Making Health and Development a Reality for the people of India
Our Team
Alok Mukhopadhyay | Chairman
Alok Mukhopadhyay is the Convenor of Independent Commission on Development and Health in India. He has served Voluntary Health Association of India as it’s Chief Executive for more than two and a half decades and currently Chairs the organization. He is a Member of the Governing Body, National Institute of Health & Family Welfare; National Commission on Macroeconomics and Health; National Nutrition Mission and many other decision making committees. He is the Convenor of the South-East Asia Primary Health Care Innovations Network (SEAPIN) of WHO-SEAR Office. He has served as a Senior Advisor to World Health Organization, World Bank and Asian Development Bank Institute. He is the Author of many major publications such as State of India’s Health Report, Report of the Independent Commission on Development and Health in India, Chronic Poverty : A Conceptual Framework, Health Assets in a Global Context: Theory, Methods, Action – A book by Springer and many others. He is a Member of the Editorial Board of Health Promotion International as well as Editor and Publisher of the Magazines, Health for the Millions and Anubhav. He is producer, director and writer of flims on social issues such as ANANT on HIV/AIDS, APARAJITA, Promises to Keep and Health in All Policies. He is recipient of several Awards, nomination by the President of India as a Distinguished Expert in Central Council of Health; International Health Promotion Award by Victorian Health Promotion Foundation, Australia, etc.

Ms. Bhavna Mukhopadhyay | Chief Executive
Bhavna Mukhopadhyay is the Chief Executive of Voluntary Health Association of India (VHAI). She has Masters Degree in Extension Education, specializing in Population Studies and Bachelors in Science from University of Delhi. She has worked with VHAI over the last two decades in various capacities, across different issues of Public Health. Her areas of specialization are working with legislators for policy intervention and advocacy, implementing sustainable health and development programmes, managing large networks and public-private partnerships in health sector. She represents Civil Society on several Committees of the Central and State Governments as a Member.Currently she spearheads tobacco control advocacy on behalf of VHAI network and leads the Bloomberg Initiative supported Tobacco Control Programme, which focuses on Policy, and Media advocacy, Coalition building, working with the Government for the effective implementation of Tobacco Control Law. This initiative has received WHO Regional Director’s Award for its Outstanding Contribution in Tobacco Control Advocacy. A sought-after expert in tobacco control advocacy in India, she regularly appears on Television and contributes to print and online news stories.

Dr. P. C. Bhatnagar | Executive Director
Dr. Pramesh Chandra Bhatnagar is the Executive Director, VHAI, New Delhi. Previously he was the Deputy Head, Community Health Promotion Division, VHAI, New Delhi (1996-99); Senior Program Officer, Community Health Promotion Division (1989-96) and Registrar PSM, Lady Harding Medical College, New Delhi (1986-89). Presently Dr. Bhatnagar is responsible for coordinating all VHAI’s work in the field of Communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS. Dr. Bhatnagar is the Project Manager of Axshaya Project: Axshaya is a project for TB control supported by Global Fund through International Union. VHAI has been working on Tuberculosis under GFATM R-9 Project with help from International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease (The Union).

Ms. Seema Gupta | Director -Tobacco Control & Reproductive Child Health
Seema Gupta is Director (Tobacco Control and RCH ) at VHAI. Having completed her Masters in Social Work from Delhi University, she has rich experience of working in the field of public health and development for more than 18 years at VHAI. She currently leads the Advocacy initiatives in Tobacco control both at national and state levels, and gives leadership to the policy and political advocacy campaigns in the Tobacco Control Unit. She also oversees the Sexual Reproductive health Rights program supported by Dutch alliance, being implemented in Odisha. She coordinates the program planning, monitoring and evaluation as well as advocacy for taking forward the SRHR/RCH agenda.

Chairman’s Office Project Axshya Finance
Sushil Vasan Senior Programme Officer
Dr. Nance Preet Kaur Senior Programme Officer
U. N. Bajpai, Assistant Programme Manager
Rajiv Kumar Chaudhary, Assistant Programme Manager
Virender Singh Rohilla, Finance & Administration
T. S. Negi, Finance and Administration Assistant
Noshina Rizvi, Senior Manager (Finance)
Satyapal- Finance and Accounts Officer
Probhat Ganguly, Senior Programme Officer
Health Promotion & Development Communication Maternal Adolescent and Child Health Kala Aparajita/ Distribution Centre
Binoy Mathew, Senior Programme Officer
Sukriti Jain, Programme Officer
Rajesh Ranjan, Programme Officer
Sushil Vasan- Senior Programme officer
Subhash Bhaskar, Junior Programme Officer
Aditi Tiwari, Senior Programme Officer
Debananda Mohanta- Programme Officer (Aparajita Orissa)
Subhash Bhaskar, Junior Programme Officer
R. N. Yadav, Senior Assistant
Regional Office (Guwahati)    
Amitabh Das, Regional Project Manager
Chaitan Kumar, Training Officer

V.P Gulati- Logistic Officer
Karishma Sharma, BCC Officer
Kalyan Kumar Phukan, Regional Finance Officer
Biraj Bora, Secretarial Assistant cum DEO
State VHA's    

Mr R. Manmohan, Coordinator, Andhra Pradesh VHA
Ms. Ruchira Neog, Executive Director, VHA of Assam
Mr Swapan Mazumder,Executive Director, Bihar Voluntary Health Association
Mr Gyanender Kumar, President, Voluntary Health Association of Delhi
Mr. Vishnubhai Upadhyay, Secertary Gujarat Voluntary Health Association

Mr. Sudhanshu Sekhar Dogra, Executive Director, Himachal Pradesh Voluntary Health Association
Mr Raj Vaidya, President, Voluntary Health Association of Goa
Mr Mukesh Kumar Sinha, Executive Director, Madhya Pradesh Voluntary Health Association
Mr. Ali Mohammed Mir, Executive Director J & K Voluntary Health Development Association
Mr. Sajju V. Itty, Executive Officer Kerala Voluntary Health Services
Dr B. S. Garg, President, Voluntary Health Association of Maharashtra
Dr B. B. Rai, Executive Director, Voluntary Health Association of Sikkim
Mr. G. Dhanapaul, Executive Director, Voluntary Health Association of Tamil Nadu
Mr. Pardeep Keisha, Executive Director, Manipur Voluntary Health Association
Ms. Eudora Warjri, Executive Secretary, Voluntary Health Association of Meghlalya
Dr. Dilip Kumar Samal, Executive Director, Orissa Voluntary Health Association
Mr. Pawan Kumar, Executive Director, Voluntary Health Association of Punjab
Mr. Satyen Chaturvedi, Executive Director, Rajasthan Voluntary Health Association
Mr. G Dhanapual, Executive Director, Tamil Nadu Voluntary Health Association
Dr. Sreelekha Ray. Executive Director, Voluntary Health Association of Tripura
Mr. D.P. Poddar, Executive Director, West Bengal Voluntary Health Association
Mr. Vivek Awasthi, Executive Director in-charge, Uttar Pradesh Voluntary Health Association

Copyright © 2015, Voluntary Health Association Of India. All Rights Reserved